Master thesis – check!

It has been a strange day. I handed in my master thesis and had lunch with the other eight students that handed in their LIS master theses. I have been enrolled in the master`s programme for 4,5 years and I have spent the last 1,5 years writing the thesis. I have worked full time (and part time) while studying part time, and I have realised how much easier it was to study full time. Still, it is possible and I really think that I have learned more and written papers that are more interesting to my employer now than I could have ten years ago. And now I have only two months of waiting to do before the results are ready…

I always find it a little sad to finish something that I have been working on for a long time, but I also find it a relief to be done. I will miss being part of the group and the discussions that I have had with the other students, but I think that I will enjoy not reading, writing and breathing ”information literacy” for a while, too. I will enjoy reading more fiction and more ”library stuff” that is not related to my thesis. And I look forward to taking a course in game design this fall. It is something completely different, but still relevant to my job.

If there is one thing that I have realised (and even more so today – talking to my fellow students) it is the importance of a good supervisor. Some of my fellow students had hardly had any contact with their supervisor while others had regular meetings with their supervisor. I chose my supervisor based on his publications and his blog, and I have not regretted it. I have learned a lot, been eager, happy, frustrated, sad, confused and a lot of other things. We have had great discussions (at least I think so..) and talked a lot about a subject that seems to interest us both.

Thank you, everyone, for your support! I can hardly believe that I can watch TV tonight without a spot of guilt. I`m done! Hurrah!

Leave a Reply

