Happy New Year!

I have to admit it was a little hard to get into gear this morning. After 1,5 weeks of glorious Christmas holiday it was difficult to get started on my first workday in 2012. Still, it felt strangely fresh – like a blank piece of paper, and I couldn`t wait to get started on my new projects.

2011 was a very busy year. We have got more students than ever, something that we greatly enjoy and appreciate, but it also gives us some challenges regarding service and levels of integration. I finished my master thesis on teaching information skills in higher education, I attended Internet Librarian International (it was so fun being a speaker!) and worked on many projects, big and small.

In 2012 I intend to test some new teaching models, hopefully trying to follow the principles of “flipping the classroom” and I look forward to testing some new assessment methods. I`ll try to document my tests on this blog and my Norwegian blog so that others can try similar things and improve them. One of the goals for this coming year is to really integrate the information skills courses into the nursing and engineering studies. It would be great for both the students and me if we could make this work!

I wish I had a little more room to play around with our website. I would have loved some gamification of the site, and to implement some of the ideas behind this article.

In 2012 I will be involved in a project that will be run on Gjøvik, Lillehammer and Hedmark University Colleges (a joint project), that will look into how we teach pedagogic methods to teachers and how the library, IT services and faculty can work better together. The project will have its first meeting tomorrow and I hope that it will be interesting and useful. I take it as a good sign that they want to involve the library into the faculty.

So – I think 2012 will be as busy as ever, with many challenges and opportunities. Happy New Year, everybody! May 2012 prove to be our best year so far!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Brent Landels says:

    Hi Karen,

    I’m glad you found my article on Gamification interesting. I believe as more and more content gets published online, we’ll be seeing new and interesting strategies to cut through the “noise” and engage with increasingly fickle web audiences. Gamification, I think, is just one example of such strategies.

    That article really works best as an introduction to Gamfication as a concept – feel free to reach out to me directly if you ever wanted to discuss employing and executing a Gamification strategy.

    You’ve provided some great resources on your blog. Kudos. Research and library skills are some of the most valuable tools I’ve developed academically and professionally.

    Happy New Year, or Godt Nyttår (forgive me if my Norwegian is lacking)

    Like

Leave a Reply

