Testing new teaching models

Bilde av puslespillbiter på tavle Last year, I wrote about “flipping the classroom”, inspired by this video. Although I do not think that video lectures represent anything new (really..) and I do not think that they can replace the teachers or the traditional lecture in any way, I did find the priciple of spending more “teaching time” tutoring students instead of giving a prepared “speech” inspiring.

So – I decided to test something new (at least here at this library). I have now made a video lectuer consisting of three 15 minute videos and published them on YouTube. They are made specifically for part-time nursing students in their first year here at GUC. The students have been given an assignment about searching and finding a scholarly article and my lecture take the students through the assignment step-by-step (remember: first year students..:-)

The students will now be given the links and will watch the videos. Their teacher have scheduled a meeting with the students in approx. a month from now and the students must e-mail me/place comments on the videos/tweet me or in other ways contact me with questions beforehand – otherwise the meeting will be cancelled. This is my way of trying to focus my teaching on the students` needs. I don`t know yet if this will work, but I hope that it will..

Other things I have tested this semester: Using Google Forms as part of my lecture. I know that lecturing may not be very effective when it comes to student learning outcomes, but sometimes there seems to be few managable alternatives for larger groups (maybe up to 150) of students. So – what to do? About a week ago I held a double lecture (“Academic writing”) for engineering students that are about to embark on their bachelor theses. A couple of times, I stopped and asked the students to enter a webpage (the Google Form) where I asked some questions, like: “You want to find an article about sustainable manufacturing. What do you do?” (and provided the students with some alternatives). I put the form up on the projector so that the students could see the answers coming in. When the time was up (I gave them approx 5 minutes) I looked at the answers and tried to clarify when there were misunderstandings and to explain things in a different way. I think it worked pretty well! Next time, I will try to maybe use four forms instead of two in a two-hour lecture, and maybe that will help keep the attention better, too. You live, you learn..

Leave a Reply

