“Do or do not. There is no try.”

Yoda

CC-licence by “sw77”

Today, while trying to prepare classes for tomorrow and catching up with e-mails etc. after three days at the London School of Economics (more on that later:)), I was reminded of the immortal words of Yoda from StarWars: “Do or do not. There is no try,” The phrase has become so popular and well-known that it is (almost) a cliché now.. and for good reasons. I just got an article I submitted to a journal back from peer review, and one of the things that I am asked to correct is changing the words “must” to “should”, and “should” to “could”. The words “the data is evidence of..” should rather be “the data indicates..”. I am doing the revisions, of course, and maybe they are right. Maybe I have been more conclusive than I really have reason to be. But is that always so? This blogpost: http://theprofessorisin.com/2011/10/05/academicwritingandtheforce/ about academic writing says it well, I think. Hmm.. food for thought!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yoda Fountain at the Presidio, San Francisco

Leave a Reply

