Hello office!

my officeHello office! I`m back!

Well, I have been on maternity leave since November 2015, and in many ways it felt like I had been gone for much longer. The merger with Sør-Trøndelag and Ålesund University Colleges and the Norwegian University for Science and Technology (NTNU) as well as getting a brand new library system (ExLibris` Alma) made me feel a little overwhelmed at times, but I hope that I`ll get the hang of all the new systems soon. I try not to let all my new tasks, for example learning the new library system and all its quirks, reading all the new procedures and trying to find the information I need for dealing with students and staff – as well as getting to know some of my new collegues, get to me. Fortunately, the years of “budgeting time” (as we like to call it) and careful planning has taught me that time is not an infinite resource. This autumn semester I will have to concentrate on my teaching efforts as well as participating in a couple of projects. If I can get it done, I will also finish a draft of a paper I am working on and learn the basics of the library system. The rest will simply have to wait. It is exciting, too, this process!

This autumn, my mantra will be: “Just in time – is good enough”. It`s good to be back:)

Leave a Reply

